Divided Basket for a New Baby

Babies are teeny tiny mysteries. I don’t have one, and I never have, so I don’t fully understand what they’re all about. Lots of my friends and relatives are having babies, and as is customary, I give them baby-related gifts. My complete cluelessness about babies makes it challenging to identify an appropriate gifts for new parents and their babies. In my confusion, I usually just sew something and then add a book or two.

IMG_1043

Thank goodness for Anna Graham and her outstanding patterns. This is the second time I have made a divided basket as a baby shower gift, and it is such a versatile pattern. I was able to work completely from my stash (hurrah for frugality!) and fill up the basket with small but hopefully useful items for the new baby boy.

IMG_1038

 

The exterior fabric is an adorable Moda print featuring multicolored origami animals. It had a bunch of bright colors and a nice gray neutral, so it paired well with random items in my stash. I found the origami animal print while visiting Quiltwork Patches in Eugene, Oregon, and at the time I had no idea what I would do with it but I just had to have it. I am glad that I was able to put it to use – it is perfect for a baby gift.

IMG_1039

The basket is filled with some of my favorite board books, a small toy, and some extra onesies. I hear that babies are mighty messy. A change of clothes might come in handy.

IMG_1041

I used fusible fleece in addition to the recommended interfacing, as suggested in the pattern, and it made a sturdy basket that stands on its own. I wish I had done the fabric-covered handles because that would have helped bring it all together…but I was in a rush and wanted to get this sewn up and in the mail before the baby arrived. I hope the new baby (and his parents) like it!

 

3 thoughts on “Divided Basket for a New Baby

  1. loveh3 says:

    Although I don’t need it for a baby I think making one of these would be great for a hanging divider right next to the shower<— I don't like leaving the bottles in the shower Lol : ) Thank you for the motivation to make something new !

    • Brianna says:

      That’s a great idea! You could make it out of laminated fabrics, too, so that it is mildly waterproof. Have fun sewing.

      • loveh3 says:

        Thank you. I would like to make something to keep all my yarn and little nicknaks in. : )

Leave a Reply

