Sewing for Me: Pink Chalk Studio Mail Sack

IMG_1363

Usually I sew for others. That brings me joy, and I love that. But the sewing projects that I plan for myself get set aside. This month, I finally finished one of those projects that I had been planning to do for years.

I wanted to make myself a Pink Chalk Studio Mail Sack. I have sewn this pattern several times as a gift and it goes together quickly and easily. The internal zippered pocket is so slick. It looks professional but takes very little effort to assemble. I love that!

IMG_1360

I should have shortened the strap for this one. The bag is a bit longer than I usually like, but I don’t think it will bother me very much. Usually I have to sling my bag over several layers of shirt/sweater/winter coat/scarf, so the long strap leaves room for all of those layers.

IMG_1358

Working on this project finally gave me the courage to cut into some of that lovely Melody Miller typewriter fabric that I had been saving. I love that print, but I’ve been hoarding it instead of using it. Now that I have made something out of it, I can appreciate its beauty through everyday use, and not let it languish in a corner of my sewing room!

Leave a Reply

